India Invited To A New Supergroup

Trump invites India to supergroup, G7

India received invitation for the supergroup, G7 Summit from US President Donald Trump. The move comes in the light of power-shift at international level amidst conflict of interests.

Crux of the Matter

Regrouping Supergroup
President Trump extended an invitation to Indian PM Narendra Modi for attending the G7 summit to be held in the US this September. This is the 2nd consecutive invitation for India after it was invited to attend the summit by France in 2019. The step comes at a time when Trump is attempting to increase the G7 to G11. His proposed new members are India, South Korea, Australia, and Russia.

What Is G7?
Group of Seven is an international body consisting of superpower nations like Canada, Italy, Germany, France, the US, Japan, and the UK. The European Union (EU) is an invitee to the group. The mentioned 7 countries constitute 46% of the Global GDP. The group was formed to discuss international problems like economy, environment, world health, etc while formulating policies for worldwide security.

While the group was originally G8, Russia was expelled in 2014 due to its annexation of Crimea. The controversy advanced in 2018 when Trump wanted to include Russia back. However, the decision was not supported by the other 6 members which also reaffirmed their original decision.

In June 2020, Trump expressed wish to include new nations in the G7, including Russia. However, Russia called, in turn, to include China in the group. The set of events comes at a time when the US, Australia, and several other nations are trying to take measures against China for its opacity in Coronavirus dealing. China has criticized the exclusion, labeling the move as “circling against China”. It also observes the inclusion of India over itself as siding with India amidst increased border tensions.

  • The United Nations Security Council “veto power” refers to the power of the five permanent members of the UN Security Council (China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States) to veto any “substantive” resolution. The veto power is controversial. Supporters regard it as a promoter of international stability, a check against military interventions, and a critical safeguard against US domination.
  • In 2014, Russia was suspended from G8 indefinitely following the annexation of Crimea, whereupon the political forum name reverted to G7 (As it was till 1996). In 2017 Russia announced its permanent withdrawal from the G8.
  • The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe. The EU has developed an internal single market through a standardized system of laws that apply in all member states in those matters, and only those matters, where members have agreed to act as one. 19 member states have the euro as their currency.