Maha Vikas Aaghadi gets 35 Ministers in Cabinet Expansion

The long-pending expansion of the Maha Vikas Aaghadi government took place on December 30 at the Vidhan Bhawan Complex. Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari administered the oath of office to 25 Cabinet Ministers and 10 Ministers of State (MoS)

Crux of the Matter
  • The Shiv Sena got 12 Ministers (8 Cabinet and 4 MoS), while the NCP took 13 Ministers, with 9 Cabinet and 4 MoS. The Congress has 10 Ministers (8 Cabinet and 2 MoS).
  • Ajit Pawar took oath as the Deputy Chief Minister after more than a month he had allied with the BJP to become the Deputy CM.
  • CM Uddhav Thackeray’s son and first-time MLA Aaditya Thackeray took oath as a cabinet minister.
  • Former CM Vilasrao Deshmukh’s son Amit Deshmukh took oath as a cabinet minister.
  • Cabinet has four Muslim Ministers, including, Nawab Malik, Hasan Mushrif, Aslam Sheikh and Abdul Sattar
  • Major names who took the oath included former CM Ashok Chavan, NCP’s Dilip Walse Patil, Jitendra Awhad, Vishwajit Kadam, Bacchu Kadu, Rajesh Tope, Varsha Gaikwad, Satej Patil, Vijay Vadettivar, Anil Deshmukh and Dr Rajendra Shingane and Sanjay Rathod.
  • CM Uddhav Thackeray said, “the portfolio allocation will be done in a day or two.
  • According to the power-sharing formula agreed on by the three parties, the Shiv Sena would have 16 ministers (apart from CM), NCP 14 and the Congress 12.

The Maha Vikas Aghadi is a political coalition formed after the 2019 Maharashtra Legislative Assembly election under the leadership of Sharad Pawar of the NCP, Uddhav Thackeray of SS and Sonia Gandhi of INC along with the support from the SP, PWPI, Prahar Janshakti Party and several other political parties including Independent MLAs. Uddhav Thackeray was elected as a leader of the MVA after a meeting on 26 November 2019. He took the oath of the office and secrecy on 28 November 2019 as the 19th chief minister of Maharashtra state. The alliance was formed by non-NDA political parties in Maharashtra as a result of 2019 Maharashtra political crisis where the BJP and Shiv Sena failed to form a government due to differences on the position of the CM. More Info