Lalu-Nitish Regime Of Bihar

Lalu-Nitish Regime Of Bihar

As the upcoming Bihar elections are drawing close, let us look at the history of Lalu Yadav and Nitish Kumar, who have shared an oscillating relationship while being in power.

Crux of the Matter

Lalu Yadav Regime

  • Lalu Prasad Yadav became the Chief Minister of Bihar in 1990 (belonged to the Janta Dal party).
    He was re-elected as the CM in 1995.
  • He resigned in 1997 over allegations of corruption in the ‘fodder scam’. His wife Rabri Devi was appointed as the CM, with Lalu allegedly continuing the administration from behind the stage.
  • In the same year, he separated from the Janata Dal and formed the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) which continued the regime.

  • Regime of Lalu Yadav has been described as ‘Jungle Raj’ (law of the jungle) with indiscriminate murders and kidnapping cases.
  • A notable incident includes Sadhu Yadav (Lalu’s brother in law) who allegedly forced luxury car showrooms to send cars for the marriage of Lalu’s daughter Misa Bharati.
  • 1999: NDA Govt of Atal Bihari Vajpayee imposed President’s rule after “deterioration in the law and order situation” – revoked due to lack of approval from the Rajya Sabha.
  • 2000: The state was divided into 2 – Bihar and Jharkhand.
  • 2018: Lalu Yadav was convicted and sentenced to 14 years imprisonment in the ‘fodder scam’ – embezzled money meant to provide fodder for animals.

Wind Of Change

  • Nitish Kumar has been credited with reducing crime in the state as well as improving the economic condition.
  • 1994: Nitish Kumar resigned from the Janata Dal and formed the Samta Party.
  • 2003: The Janata Dal merged with the Samta party to form ‘Janata Dal United’ (JDU).
  • 2005: JDU, allied with the BJP, defeated RJD in the elections – Nitish Kumar became the Chief Minister.
  • 2010: Kumar was re-elected as the CM.

Lalu And Nitish Unite – Then Split Again

  • 2013: Nitish Kumar broke alliance with the BJP as the latter declared Narendra Modi as the Prime Ministerial candidate.
  • 2014: Kumar resigned from the CM post and formed ‘Mahagathbandhan’ with Lalu Yadav’s RJD and Congress.

  • 2015: Kumar was elected as the CM from the ‘Mahagathbandhan’.
  • 2017: Kumar announced split from the Mahagathbandhan after Deputy CM Tejashwi Yadav refused to resign over corruption charges. He joined the BJP in the NDA alliance and continued as the CM.
  • Mere Bharat Ke Kanth Haar is the state song of the Indian state of Bihar. The lyrics were written by Satya Narayan and the music was composed by Hari Prasad Chaurasia and Shivkumar Sharma. 
  • Bodhi Tree with Prayer beads, flanked by two swastikas is the emblem of Bihar. The whole emblem signifies spiritualism, knowledge and auspiciousness in Indian religions.
  • The name Bihar is derived from the Sanskrit word vihāra, meaning “abode”. The region roughly encompassing the present state had many Buddhist vihāras, the abodes of Buddhist monks in the ancient and medieval periods.