Perks Of Indian Parliamentarians

Perks Of Indian Parliamentarians

Finnish PM Sanna Marin was in news about her use of government money for funding family breakfast. Did you know that Indian parliamentarians also get a lot of additional perks and benefits. Let’s have a look at the various perks received by current and retired MPs.

Crux of the Matter

Finnish PM Case
Finnish PM Sanna Marin was under scrutiny as her family’s breakfast was being subsidised by taxpayers money. She pledged to pay $17,000 back to the country.

In that light, let us look at the salaries and perks that Indian Parliamentarians get.


  • Monthly Salary: ₹1,00,000.
  • Daily allowance: ₹2000 (provided the Parliamentary register is signed).
  • Constitution allowance and office expense: ₹70,000 & ₹60,000 respectively.


  • Air Travel: Allowed up to 34 free air travels for official duties with spouse/companion. Out of these, spouse/companion can use up to 8 to travel alone to meet the member.
  • Rail Travel: 1 non-transferable ticket to travel in first-class or executive class. 1 two-tier ticket for spouse/companion.


  • Transit Accommodation – A temporary lodging provided for a newly elected member in Delhi .
  • Regular Accommodation – Provided with rent-free housing throughout the term.
  • Guest Accommodation – Accommodation at Western Court Hostel, Janpath provided to the guests. 


  • Three telephones with 50,000 free local calls each.
  • Two mobile phone connection of MTNL/BSNL connection or any private with national roaming.
  • Optional 3G facility offered by MTNL/BSNL.

Water And Electricity

  • 4,000 kilolitre of free water.
  • 50,000 units of free electricity.

Advance Allowance
Up to ₹4,00,000 as advance can be taken by a member for conveyance purchases.

Income Tax
Salary and allowances of MP comes under “income from other sources”. Hence, they are exempted from paying income tax.

For instance, a veg thali and a chicken biryani cost ₹100 each in the Parliament canteen.


  • Pension of ₹25,000 per month.
  • Additional pension of ₹2,000 per month for every year after 5 years.

  1. Shabnam “Mausi” Bano is the first transgender Indian to be elected as a MLA. She was an elected member of the Madhya Pradesh State Legislative Assembly from 1998 to 2003, while transgender people were first given voting rights in 1994.
  2. In the 17th Legislative Assembly a BJP legislator from Keonjhar constituency, Chandrarani Murmu, became the country’s youngest member when she was 25 years, 11 months and nine days. Shafiqur Rahman Barq of SP from Sambhal constituency became the oldest member at the age of 86.
  3. Indrajit Gupta was the longest-serving member having been elected eleven times to the Lok Sabha. The only time he lost an election was when he lost to Ashok Krishna Dutt in 1977 following the CPI-supported Emergency.